upper wabash river basin commission

117 West Harvest Road • Bluffton, IN 46714
260-824-0624 ext. 3

upper wabash river basin commission

Watchin’ the Wabash – January 2018 Newsletter

The Upper Wabash River-Phase 2 Watershed Management Plan was approved by IDEM in September 2015!  Click the link to view the plan.  

Upper Wabash River-Phase 2 Watershed Management Plan.

Upper Wabash River Watershed Management Plan ~ Phase 2

  ~Check out our “News” or “Get Involved” pages for newsletters and activities of the UWRBC~




The Upper Wabash River Basin Commission (UWRBC) was enacted by the State Legislature in 2001 by House Bill 2119, under IC 14-30-4.  It was established as a separate municipal corporation, which includes the area located in Adams, Huntington, Jay, and Wells counties that is drained by the Wabash River, including the tributaries of the Wabash River.

Mission Statement

To provide regional leadership and promotion of flood prevention and control, soil and water conservation, and related resource management through a coordinated and comprehensive planning and implementing approach in which projects of the Commission will not adversely affect other landowners within the watershed.


The voting members on the Commission are the three County Commissioners from each county, the Chairman of each county’s Soil and Water Conservation District (SWCD), and the Surveyor of each county, or their designee.

Voting Members

Adams County
Doug Bauman
Kim Fruechte
Sandra Voglewede — Appointment for Rex Moore
Paul Norr – Surveyor
Paul Bluhm – SWCD Representative

Huntington County
Larry Buzzard
Tom Wall
Rob Miller
Jay Poe – Surveyor
Kyle Lund – SWCD Representative

Jay County
Bettie Jacobs — Appointment for Richard “Chuck” Huffman
Barry Hudson
Mike Leonhard
Brad Daniels – Surveyor 
Rick Imel – SWCD Representative

Wells County
Blake Gerber
Kevin Woodward
Tamara Robbins
Jarrod Hahn – Surveyor
Doug Sundling – SWCD Representative


  • Doug Sundling, Chair
  • Bettie Jacobs, Vice Chair
  • Sandy Voglewede, Board Secretary
  • Blake Gerber, Treasurer

Administrative Assistant

Stacia L. Henderson 117 W. Harvest Rd., Bluffton, IN 46714 Office: (260) 824-0624 ext. 3